What is the goal of Christianity?

 

I recently entered into conversation with a Mr. Christopher Randolph over on his blog when posted the question “What is the Gospel?” (see here) I thought it was a very interesting question to ask his readers and I enjoyed reading the responses that he got. In similar fashion I’d be very interested to find out what you, the reader, believe the goal of Christianity is. I have my own thoughts about it but I’m curious as to what others of different denominations, sects, or even faiths think.

As always, I am a big believer in conversation. I received my B.A. in Philosophy and I enjoy questioning others about their beliefs and thoughts so that 1.) they can have a chance to share what they believe and 2.) so that they might be able to find out for themselves what it is they believe when they are presented with competing lines of thought. If I respond back to you questioning your answer, please don’t see it as a personal attack, but rather as me trying to coax more out of you, for both mine and your own benefit!

So, with that said, let’s hear it: What is the goal of Christianity?

15 responses to “What is the goal of Christianity?

  • diasolifeontheborder

    To glorify God and enjoy him forever!

  • laodeciapress

    The glory of God:

    So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. (1 Cor 10:31)

  • Zacharias

    I think that glorifying God should be how we live our lives, and is a big part of what Christianity -does- but I don’t know if I would say that it is the goal, at least not completely.

    (I almost feel bad typing that. It almost sounds like I”m devaluing glorifying God, which I most certainly am not!)

  • briantromburg

    I think glorifying God is the result of the goal of Christianity. I think the goal of Christianity is to make Christ known. Making Christ known brings glory to God. To say the goal of Christianity is to glorify God is good, as you acknowledge Zacharias, but to be more specific a Christian must be burdened with the goal of making Christ known.

    • Zacharias

      But why do we want to make Him known? Surely the goal isn’t just to say “Hi world, this is God Incarnate.”

      • briantromburg

        We want to make Him known out of obedience (Great Commission). On a very simplistic level, yes, that is what happens, “Hi world, here is Jesus.” Is there more to the story? Yes, but that’s God’s responsibility–God does wondrous works with our faithfulness. I’m just boiling things down, I want to acknowledge that other things flow out of this basic duty like the responsibility of righteousness and discipleship which will also testify to the world about Christ. And that is why I say at a basic level, the goal of Christianity is to make Christ known.

        For Israel, their goal was to make God known through obedience. They were God’s people to be on display to all nations testifying to who God is. Likewise, we, being called Christians are to make Christ (God incarnate) known to the world.

  • Tom Smith

    In answer to your question, “What is the goal of Christianity?” I first have to alter the question before I can honestly answer it. I’d have to rephrase the question to, “What is the goal of the Christian faith as revealed in the Bible?” I say this because in my mind there is a definite distinction between Christianity as a religious system created by man and the pure Christian faith as inspired by God and revealed in His word, the Bible.

    The Christian faith does have a goal. This goal is the eternal goal of God revealed in Gen. 1:26, to have a corporate man in God’s image and with His dominion to express God and rule for God. Although Satan frustrated God’s intention temporarily by damaging man, God, in His Son Jesus Christ, came to recover man back to God’s original purpose.

    Through the steps of Christ’s incarnation, crucifixion, resurrection and ascension, God reached man, redeemed man and dispenses His eternal life into man, to make His redeemed, the children of God and the members of the Body of Christ. In His ascension Christ poured out the Spirit to form all His believers into the church, as the Body of Christ.

    When we believe into Christ receiving Him as our Savior and life, He as the life-giving Spirit regenerates our spirit (John 3:6; 1 Pet. 1:23). Then He gradually transforms our soul (Rom. 12:2) and finally, He will glorify our body (Rom. 8:30).

    Then as we enjoy Christ together in oneness we will be filled with Christ to become His fullness, for His corporate expression (Eph. 1:22-23; 3:14-21). This built up Body will ultimately consummate in the holy city, New Jerusalem bearing the glorious expression of God for eternity (Rev. 21-22),

    • Zacharias

      I think you are pretty much along the lines of my own belief. I would make two comments though. First is that I don’t think it was Satan that thwarted God’s plan for us, but rather it was ourselves and our egos, that “I” in us that thinks it knows best. Second, what do you think the goal was of those who lived in the first three centuries and called themselves Christians? There was no Bible as we know it now at that time.

      • Tom Smith

        Satan’s suggestion exposed man’s independence from God. It is God’s desire from eternity that He would be life to man. Anything of life–eating, drinking or breathing are matters of dependence. God’s desire is that we would be forever dependent on Him as food, drink and breath.

        The Lord Jesus said, “As the living Father sent Me and I live because of the Father, so He who eats Me, he also shall live because of Me.” (John 6:57). As a man, the Lord Jesus lived by every word that proceeded out of the mouth of God (Matt. 4:4). He took the Old Testament Scriptures as food (see Deut. 8:3). So even before the New Testament books were available, those who received the God-breathed word as their food, were supplied to live a dependent life so that they might be filled with God to express God.

  • Sasha

    I believe the goal is to revive, save humans, dying/dead from the severed connection their Creator and Source of Life. And then to let them grow into what He meant for them to become.

  • Katherine Clark

    St. Seraphim said that the goal of the Christian life is the acquire the Holy Spirit. As He is “everywhere present and fills all things” as the prayer says, perhaps this is part of the continuous inviting and welcoming of the Lord into my heart and life….an everlasting filling. Maranatha!

Let me know what you think

