Orthodox Morning Prayers: St. Basil, and to the Angel

*This is the fifth in a series of posts of Eastern Orthodox morning prayers. I say the prayers in the order that they will be posted, but feel free to rearrange and single out the prayers as you see fit! All Glory and Honor to the Holy Trinity!

A prayer by St. Basil

O Lord Almighty, God of Angelic hosts and of all flesh, that dwells in the highest, and cares for the humble, that searches the reins and the heart, and clearly discerns the hidden things of men, Light from eternity and ever-existent, with whom is no variableness neither shadow of turning: O King Immortal receive our prayers which we, trusting in the multitude of your mercies, offer to you at this present time from our soiled lips; forgive us our transgressions which we have  committed knowingly  or unknowingly in thought or word or deed; and cleanse us from all stain of body or soul. Grant us to pass throu all the night of this present life with vigilant heart and sober thought, in expectancy of the coming of the bright and manifest day of your Only-begotten Son, our Lord God and Savior, Jesus Christ, in which shall with glory the Judgement of all men, when to each shall be given the reward of his works: may we not fall away into sloth, but take courage and, being roused to action, be found ready and enter intot he joy and the divine bride-chamber of his glory, where the voice of those that feast is never silent, and the delight of those that behold the inexpressible beauty of your countenance passes all telling; for you are the true Light that enlightens and sanctifies every manner of thing, and of you does every creatures sing. Amen.

Prayer to the Guardian Angel

O Holy Angel, that keeps guard over my despondent soul and passionate life, leave me not, a sinner, nor depart from me to my undoing; grant not a place to the crafty enemy to overcome me by the force of this mortal body; strengthen my weak and feeble hand, and set me on the path of salvation. Yes, holy Angel of God, guardian and protector of my hopeless body and soul, forgive me everything wherein I have offended you every day of my life, and what I have done amiss this past night; protect me during the present day, and preserve me from every attempt of the enemy. May I not anger God by any sin. Pray for me the Lord, that he may establish me in his fear and prove me a servent worthy of His kindness. Amen.

Let me know what you think

