Orthodox Morning Prayers: Hymns to the Holy Trinity

*This is the third in a series of posts of Eastern Orthodox morning prayers. I say the prayers in the order that they will be posted, but feel free to rearrange and single out the prayers as you see fit! All Glory and Honor to the Holy Trinity!

Arising from sleep, we fall down before you, O Blessed God, and sing to you, O Mighty One, the Angelic Hymn: Holy, holy, holy are you, O God. Through the intercessions of the Theotokos, have mercy upon us.
-Glory to the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit.
You, O Lord, have aroused me from my bed and from sleep; enlighten my understanding and my heart, and open my lips, that I may sing of you, O Holy Trinity. Holy, holy, holy are you, O God. Through the intercessions of the Theotokos, have mercy upon us.
-Both now and ever, and unto the ages of ages. Amen.
Suddenly shall come the Judge, anad the deeds of every man be revealed; but with fear we cry to you in the morning: Holy, holy, holy are you, O God. Through the intercessions of the Theotokos, have mercy upon us.
– Lord, have mercy (x12)

Prayer by St. Basil the Great

Arising from sleep I thank you, O Holy Trinity, that, for the sake of your great kindness and long-suffereing, you have not had indignation against me, for I am slothful and sinful, neither have you destroyed me in my transgressions: but you have shown your customary love towards man, and have raised me up as I lay in heelessness, that I might sing my morning hymn and glorify your sovranty. Enlighten the eyes of my understanding , O Lord, open my  ears to receive your words and teach me your commandments. Help me to do your will, to sing to you, to confess you from my heart, and to extol your All-holy Name, of Father, Son and Holy Spirit, both now and ever, and unto the ages of ages. Amen.
– O come, let us worship God, our King. (prostration)
– O come, let us worship and fall down before Christ, our King and our God. (prostration).
– O come, let us worship and fall down before Christ himself, our King and our God. (prostration)

Imagine that you are standing before Christ himself while saying the last part of this prayer. Imagine that you are standing before His throne and that He is arrayed in just like a King. Make your prostrations reverently, showing honor to our King and our God. While still prostrated after the third prostration, pray to God with your whole heart for your own personal petitions.

Once done, this is a good time to read the epistle and Gospel readings for the day.

Let me know what you think

