Surrendering to the Devil

I haven’t made a post in a while but I have a good excuse! I’ve been busy with making a new komboskini (prayer rope) since my old one somehow broke. I’m also working on creating a new .pdf that will guide you step-by-step on how to make your own! In the meantime though I just wanted to share a quote that was on my calendar for today. It is from Elder Paisios the Athonite:

When a person does not sharpen his mind thinking about God, but instead spends his time plotting and sharpening various schemes, he surrenders himself to the devil. It would have been better for him to have lost his mind completely. Then, at least, he would have some extenuating circumstances on the Day of Judgement.

We should should strive continuously to keep God in our mind, to cultivate a rememberance of the constant presence of God. In this way we will be best prepared to fight off the devious logismoi which attack us and try to draw us into sin. The Elder says that it would be better to lose our minds completely then to lend it over for the devil’s use. I pray that God will help us all in this struggle, and that he will not abandon us to the enemy!

Let me know what you think

